Each year the NIRA Alumni and the Weary Foundation present scholarships to the Fourth Place Men’s and Women’s Teams as well at the Man and Woman Rookie of the Year. This year the Fourth Place Men’s Team was from Weatherford College, Texas, coached by Johnny Emmons. Chadron State College, Nebraska, and coach Dustin Luper received the Women’s Team Scholarship. Marcus Theriot, East Mississippi Community College, took home the Man Rookie of the Year while Brittany Dias of Fresno State was the Woman Rookie.

This is the second year the Alumni presented scholarships to the first time qualifiers to the CNFR with the highest number of points in each event. Those Rookies Event winners are:

  • Bareback Riding:  Zach Kibbler, Western Texas College
  • Tie Down Roping:  Marcus Theriot, East Mississippi Community College
  • Breakaway Roping:  Brittany Dias, Fresno State, California
  • Saddle Bronc Riding:  Blaise Freeman, Western Texas College
  • Steer Wrestling:  Marcus Theriot, East Mississippi
  • Goat Tying:  Teisha Coffield, Northeastern Junior College, Colorado
  • Team Roping-Header:  Marcus Theriot, East Mississippi Community College
  • Team Roping-Heeler:  Tucker Dale, Dickinson State, North Dakota
  • Barrel Racing:  Jessica Dunbar, Texas Tech
  • Bull Riding:  Tyler Lewis, Southern Arkansas State University
  • The Stan Harter Memorial Scholarship recipient is Hunter Reaume, CalPoly/San Luis Obispo