• Trinity Valley Expo Fair & Rodeo $100,000.00 National Collegiate Champion Shootout

    September 8, 2023

    LIBERTY, Texas - Trinity Valley Expo in Liberty, TX is excited to announce the inaugural National Collegiate Champion Shootout, presented by TVE Fair and Rodeo and sanctioned by the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association. The event will take place on October 18-21, 2023, at the Trinity Valley Expo in Liberty, TX, and will feature top-performing collegiate rodeo athletes from each region in the country.

    The Collegiate Champion Shootout is an invitational style event that will award $100,000 in prize money. The event will feature the top 2 college athletes in each event from around the nation, by NIRA Region and will showcase action in the standard NIRA events including Bareback Riding, Saddle Bronc Riding, Bull Riding, Tie-Down Roping, Steer Wrestling, Team Roping, Breakaway Roping, Barrel Racing, and Goat Tying.


    • Entry fees are $250
    • $100,000 TotalPayout (*$14,000 goes to Champ & Reserve Champ Regions)
    • Regional Funding/Scholarships for Champion & Reserve Champion Men’s & Women’s Region Teams
      • 1st Men's Region - $4200
      • 1st Women’s Region - $4200
      • 2nd Men's Region - $2800
      • 2nd Women’s Region - $2800
      • Each “Team” consists of all contestants from a Region (*except in cases of replacements for & from different regions)


    • Bareback, Saddle Bronc, Bull Riding, Tie Down, Steer Wrestling, TeamRoping, Break Away, Barrel Race and Goat Tying
    • Top 2 from each of 11 regions invited in each of 9 disciplines.
      • Invitation extended at College National Finals Rodeo
      • Top 2 based on final regional standings and CNFR placings
      • To fill all spots: Drop down to no more than 5th place in 2022-23 standings if unavailable due to eligibility, graduated, not an NIRA member or cannot attend
      • If spots are still not filled: Remaining spots shall be filled with contestants starting geographically closest to Liberty, TX and then outward
      • Entries will open/close in September of 2023 (Date TBD)
      • Must be in good standing and eligible with the NIRA at the time of entries

    October 18-20, 2023

    • Round One - One head go-round (Random Position Draw)
      • 22 In each discipline
      • Perf 1: 7 contestants per event, Wednesday 7:30pm
      • Perf 2: 7 contestants per event, Thursday 7:30pm
      • Perf 3: 8 contestants per event, Friday 7:30pm
      • $5000 Payout per event ($10,000 TR):
        • 1st- $2,000
        • 2nd- $1,500
        • 3rd- $1,000
        • 4th- $500
      • Top 8 advance to Short Go

    October 21, 2023

    • Short Go Round - Clean Slate
      • Championship Round Saturday 7:30pm
      • $3,600 Payout per event ($7,200 TR)
      • Pay top 2:
        • 1st-$2,400
        • 2nd-$1,200
    Continue reading →

    September 7, 2023

    FORT WORTH, Tex. – The NIRA (National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association) and WCRA (World Champions Rodeo Alliance) are proud to announce a partnership and a combined effort to provide additional opportunities for college rodeo athletes. The two rodeo organizations are teaming up to bring a $10,000 bonus to the 2024 College National Finals Rodeo next June.

    "This is another huge step to growing the sport of rodeo among college athletes and giving them an opportunity to qualify for WCRA events,” said WCRA President Bobby Mote. “We are ecstatic to be the presenting sponsor of the Armband Ceremony and offer this $10,000 bonus opportunity to college athletes. We are anxious to see college rodeo athletes qualify for the chance to compete for the $1 Million Triple Crown of Rodeo Bonus.”

    The “WCRA College Trifecta” will pay a $10,000 cash bonus to any NIRA athlete who wins their respective discipline in their region and wins at least one go-round of competition at the CNFR in the same discipline and completes the “Trifecta” by winning the World Championship in that discipline. The athlete must have nominated their ride or run with WCRA at the CNFR to be eligible for the bonus. The following NIRA disciplines are eligible: bareback riding, steer wrestling, barrel racing, breakaway roping, tie-down roping, saddle bronc riding, heading, heeling, and bull riding. If more than one athlete completes the trifecta, then those athletes will split the bonus.

    “NIRA is thrilled to announce its exciting partnership with WCRA, which promises to open new doors of opportunity for our college rodeo athletes,” said Jim Dewey Brown NIRA Commissioner. “WCRA's unwavering commitment to elevating the world of rodeo ensures that our athletes will continue to thrive in a realm of endless possibilities.”

    Athletes can use code “COLLEGE24” when nominating and receive 25% off. The code is limited to four nominations and can be used to nominate any future event. The code is valid until May 2024.

    Since launching in May of 2018, the WCRA and its partners have awarded more than $15,700,000 in new money to rodeo athletes. All rodeo athletes interested in learning more about the WCRA, the VRQ, or how to nominate should be directed to or download the WCRA app HERE


    About WCRA (World Champions Rodeo Alliance):

    WCRA is a professional sport and entertainment entity, created to develop and advance the sport of rodeo by aligning all levels of competition. In association with the PBR, WCRA produces major rodeo events, developing additional opportunities for rodeo-industry competitors, stakeholders, and fans. To learn more, visit For athletes interested in learning more about the WCRA Virtual Rodeo Qualifier (VRQ) system, visit

    About NIRA (National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association)

    NIRA is a prestigious and nationally recognized organization that governs collegiate rodeo competitions in the United States. NIRA provides a platform for college students from across the country to compete in a wide range of rodeo events, showcasing their talent and dedication to the sport. With a rich history dating back to 1949, NIRA has been instrumental in shaping the careers of many professional rodeo athletes by offering them a competitive and structured environment at the college level. NIRA plays a pivotal role in promoting the values of sportsmanship, teamwork, and dedication while fostering the growth and development of rodeo athletes, both in and out of the arena.

    Continue reading →
  • Membership FAQ

    July 18, 2023

    Questions on how to fill out your membership application? We answer some of the most Frequently asked question as well as provide some additional instruction to help streamline the process. Check out the video here. There is also a link in the Downloads section at the top of the Membership Forms.

    Continue reading →
  • CNFR 2023 Rodeo Results

    June 11, 2023

    Results will be updated as they are available on our Standing Page.

    Continue reading →
  • CNFR 2023 Position Draw

    June 2, 2023

    CNFR2023 Position Draw is now live. Head on over to for information, schedule, and results.

    Continue reading →